Skip to Content Skip to Footer Accessibility Concerns
Shadow Ridge High School students

Shadow Ridge Yearbook Honored

Shadow Ridge High School “The Riot” Yearbook students had a successful day at the Arizona Interscholastic Press Association's (AIPA) annual convention and awards ceremony held at the Arizona State University Memorial Union on October 24, 2023. 

The AIPA awards recognize all levels of student journalism in the state of Arizona including TV broadcasting, school newspapers, and yearbooks.

Their 2022-2023 yearbook publication titled, Where Are We Now?, picked up third place overall for General Excellence in a Yearbook Publication category.  Individually, they received Superior awards for Student Life Spreads. The Stallions received Excellent awards for Theme Development, Academic Spread, Sports Spread Feature Photo, and Graphic Design. The group also received Honorable Mention awards for Headline Writing, People Spread, and Clubs Photo.

The students were thrilled to have a familiar guest speaker present at the conference. Donovan Johnson, Shadow Ridge High School Class of 2020 alumni and past “Riot” Yearbook Editor in Chief, presented a class on photo journalism. Donovan is now a senior at The Walter Cronkite School of Journalism at Arizona State University (ASU).

“It was amazing to watch Donovan keep a room of students enthralled with knowledge and expertise in the subject matter,” shared Rodney Moore, Shadow Ridge High School Career and Technical Education Teacher and Yearbook Advisor.

The Arizona Interscholastic Press Association supports middle school and high school journalism programs including newspaper, yearbook, web, broadcast, and literary magazine across the state.


Tags: District News