Skip to Content Skip to Footer Accessibility Concerns
A teacher receives their National Board Certified pennant

Dysart National Board Certified Staff Continues to Grow


DYSART SCHOOLS - Over the past year, 10 Dysart Schools staff members earned their National Board Certification, and 15 have renewed their certification, bringing the total number of National Board Certified staff members to 66. National certifications are the highest and most rigorous credentials that can be earned for various professions across the U.S. for teachers, psychologists, nurses, occupational therapists and behavior analysts, and are overseen by their respective organizations.  

Dysart staff that received National Board certification for the first time include: 

  • Sherri Deissler, 2nd Grade Teacher at Kingswood Elementary School 
  • Heather Fogelson, School Psychologist at Canyon Ridge School 
  • Megan Harshman, 2nd Grade Teacher at Luke Elementary School 
  • Jacqueline Hoeffler, Lead Nurse for Dysart Schools 
  • Kristin Jackson, School Psychologist at Surprise Elementary School  
  • Jesica Inscoe, Math Teacher at Valley Vista High School 
  • Cheryl Schubmehl, 5th Grade Teacher at Sonoran Heights Middle School 
  • Kristin Smith, Nurse at Shadow Ridge High School 
  • Cynthia Williams, Regional Nurse for Dysart Schools 
  • Lisa Young, Nurse at Valley Vista High School 

Dysart staff that renewed their certification include: 

  • Deborah Benton, Nurse for Dysart High School  
  • Taylor Duzy, School Psychologist at Dysart Middle School 
  • Jessica Gilligan, School Psychologist at Rancho Gabriela/West Point elementary schools 
  • Helen Green, 3rd Grade Teacher at Riverview School 
  • Cheryl Hall, 6th Grade Teacher at Sonoran Heights Middle School 
  • Jessica Haug, Reading Interventionist at Luke Elementary School 
  • Kristine Kath, Occupational Therapist 
  • Erin Keller, School Psychologist at Surprise Elementary School 
  • Jeffrey Marquis, School Psychologist at Valley Vista/Willow Canyon high school
  • Brittney Moore, Behavior Analyst 
  • Catherine Mundstock, Reading Interventionist at Surprise Elementary School 
  • Jacque Nelson, Occupational Therapist for the ESS Assistive Technology Team 
  • Donna Slaybaugh, Occupational Therapist 
  • Matthew Wickstrom, School Psychologist at Dysart High School 
  • Brittany Zavala, Special Education Resource Teacher at Luke Elementary School 

“Dysart has exceptional and highly qualified staff members that serve our students every day,” said Superintendent Dr. John Croteau. “It is no surprise that we have so many that choose to go above and beyond in their education and professional development in order to seek continual growth through National Board Certification. This is just one example of how our “A” rated district offers the very best to our community.” 

On Wednesday, January 24, teachers that earned or renewed their certification were recognized by the Arizona K12 Center with a special felt pennant delivery in celebration of their achievement through the National Board Certified Teacher program. Dysart awards all staff members who have earned National Board Certification a stipend equal to 5% of their base salary to honor the hard work and dedication it took to reach this achievement. Additionally, Dysart supports staff members interested in earning the certification by arranging cohort meetings and substitute coverage for two professional days for preparation. 

National Board programs are managed by various industry-specific organizations, including the following: National Board for Professional Teaching Standards; National Board of Certification of School Nurses; National School Psychology Certification Board; Behavior Analyst Certification Board; and the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy.

For More Information

15802 N Parkview Place, Surprise