Skip to Content Skip to Footer Accessibility Concerns
Four student National Merit Finalists

Four Students Advance to National Merit Finalists


DYSART SCHOOLS - Shadow Ridge High School’s four National Merit Semifinalists have moved on to be Finalists in the next stage of the National Merit Scholarship Program. Student’s include Luke Esh, Donovan Lerma, Troi Orton and Wyatt Wilson. 

In September, 2023, the highest scoring students in the state were named Semifinalists out of over 1.3 million high school juniors that take the PSAT/NMSQT test each year. Only 16,000 students, or less than one percent of all high school seniors in the U.S., advance to be Semifinalists, and these students can submit an application to be considered for Finalist and compete for one of 2,500 National Merit Scholarships that will be awarded in the spring. 

About National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) 

NMSC, a not-for-profit organization that operates without government assistance, was established in 1955 specifically to conduct the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are underwritten by NMSC with its own funds and by approximately 320 business organizations and higher education institutions that share NMSC’s goals of honoring the nation’s scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.