Skip to Content Skip to Footer Accessibility Concerns
Front of Dysart Unified School District Building

Dysart Honors 54 Staff Members as Heroes


Dysart Unified School District annually names staff members as Heroes to recognize outstanding service to the district and community. This year 54 extraordinary staff members received the honor of being named a Dysart Hero, after being selected through a peer nomination process.

The Dysart Hero Squad, made up of district administrators and Governing Board members, surprised recipients over the course of several days in March and April with the award. Typically the honor is bestowed in front of students and co-workers, gifting them with a certificate and a balloon during the surprise visit. This year’s announcements were interrupted by the COVID closures, so some of the Heroes were instead surprised at their homes by administrators. 

In lieu of the usual Hero Awards Dinner this year, a prepared meal catered by Sharkos Catering was provided to each Hero to take home and enjoy with their family. The drive-through meal pick-up was lined with administrators holding signs and cheering for each Hero as they came through. All Heroes will be presented with a commemorative plaque, donated by the Dysart Education Foundation, by their administrator at the beginning of the next school year. 

2020 Dysart Heroes:

Certified / Classified 

Mary Anne Joy - Asante 

Lon Shears - Asante 

Randy Maville - Ashton Ranch 

Christina Banda - Ashton Ranch 

Michelle Boehlert - Canyon Ridge 

Amy Foote - Canyon Ridge 

Alyssa Moon Dyke - Cimarron Springs 

Mitchell Spindler - Cimarron Springs 

Jennifer Smith - Countryside 

Artis Miller - Countryside 

Amanda Gowans - Dysart Elementary  

Arnold Sanchez - Dysart Elementary 

Tammy Neese - El Mirage 

Dell Clark - El Mirage 

Amber Brink - Freedom  

Manuel Nunez - Freedom 

Alicia McEvoy - Kingswood 

Alix Nicolosi - Kingswood 

Jessica Haug - Luke 

Annette Jackson  - Luke  

Lauren Setola - Marley Park 

Sylvia Quinones - Marley Park  

Roxanne Lopez - Mountain View 

Amy Pitard - Mountain View 

Duane Kelso - Rancho Gabriela 

Heather Maxwell - Rancho Gabriela 

Jeffrey Wiley - Riverview 

Patricia Flanagan - Riverview  

Sarah Monnet - Sonoran Heights 

Lindsay Smith - Sonoran Heights 

Tracy Sacher - Sunset Hills 

Ashley Walkenbach - Sunset Hills 

Heather Polk - Surprise 

Kimberly Corallo - Surprise  

Yelena Fischer - Thompson Ranch 

Kathleen Dombrowski - Thompson Ranch 

Lisa Silva - West Point  

George Laborin - West Point  

Curtis Jones - Western Peaks 

Olga Vera - Western Peaks 

Maryssa Siegle - Dysart High 

Cristina Cisneros - Dysart High 

Theron Frazer - Shadow Ridge  

Jeanette Landis - Shadow Ridge  

Lori Luzier - Valley Vista 

Britney Huddleston - Valley Vista  

Kimberly Warnas - Willow Canyon 

Juan Izaguirre - Willow Canyon 

Melissa England - Sundown Mountain 

Heidi Lindemann - Sundown Mountain 

Jessica Robbins - Student Information Systems


Mary Thomas - Canyon Ridge


Rick Haney - El Mirage 

Stephanie Lawrence - Riverview

The Dysart Hero Awards were sponsored this year by Dysart Education Foundation, as well as generous community partners including: 

Platinum Sponsors: 1GPA, Chasse, Core Construction, Valley Schools 

Gold Sponsors: Dell, Wholesale Floors 

Silver Sponsors: CHWP Expos 

Bronze Sponsors: Symetra Life 

General Sponsors: Delta Dental, Jorgeson Brooks, Teledoc, Troxell and Turboscape

To view excerpts from our Hero nomination letters visit: 

For More Information

15802 N Parkview Place, Surprise